Lady Cats softball team looks back on season at banquet

Published 6:13 pm Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Bainbridge High School varsity and junior varsity Lady Cats and Bainbridge Middle School Lady Cats softball teams were honored for their strong seasons Thursday, Nov. 6, at the Bainbridge High School cafeteria.

Coach Amy Thomas’s varsity Lady Cats finished 15-9 overall, 8-2 and in second place in regular season Region 1-AAAA play, 2-2 and in third place in the Region 1-AAAA Tournament where they qualified for the State Class AAAA Tournament Region 1-AAAA play and advanced to the first round of Stat Class AAAA playoffs.

Sophomore Tykira Adans, who had 17 stolen bases, received the stolen base award and the most improved player award.

Email newsletter signup

Freshman catcher Morgan Cannon, who had a 990 fielding percentage, received the rookie of the year award. Senior Maegan Harrison, who had a 98.2 grade point average, received the varsity scholar athlete award.

She also was winner of the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award.

The defensive player of the year award went to senior pitcher Brooke Bates who pitched 131 innings, allowed just 15 walks and 31 earned runs, struck out 83 and had a 1.64 earned run average.

The offensive player of the year award went to senior Maegan Harrison who had a .389 average, 20 runs scored, 21 hits, 11 singles, five doubles and five triples.

Maegan Harrison and Brooke Bates earned first team All-Region 1AAAA honors and Morgan  Cannon and Tykira Adams earned second team All-Region 1AAAA honors.

Each year coach Thomas and coach Dennis Cato recognize an athlete with a special coach’s award.

This season this honor was bestowed upon all of the ladies who played on the varsity. Going to state and breaking a school record for team Region wins was a result of the combined effort of each and every player.

The 2014 coach’s awards were given to seniors Brooke Bates, Zakiya Calloway, Maegan Harrison, Takahri Murphy, Taylor Jackson, sophomores Taylor Swanner, Reilly Fletcher, Haley Thompson, Victoria Sprenkle, Tykira Adams, Abby McMillan, Tyaisha Gant and freshmen Cyan Gant, Morgan Cannon and Tyra Smart.

Junior varsity coach Brandi Jackson presented awards to Reilly Fletcher as most valuable player, Tyra Smart as gold glove award winner, Delia Ferguson as most improved player, Delia Ferguson as most improved player, Jailyn Billingsley as best sportsmanship award winner Jasmine Bell nd Cyan Gant as Bearcat Coach’s Award winners.

Middle school coach Lindsey Jarrett presented awards to Shelbie Summerlin as best offensive player, Addison Enfinger as best defensive player, Abigail Gardner as leadership award winner, Bailey Rayfield for having the most RBI’s and Callie Strickland as most spirited player.