Election Day just around the corner

Published 6:16 pm Friday, October 24, 2014

Election day is quickly approaching, and voters across Decatur County will have the opportunity to place their votes for various public officials on Nov. 4.

Advance voting began Oct. 13. There are 726 voters who turned out in person to vote, and 163 voters requested their ballot by mail as of Thursday, Oct. 23.

Advance voting will continue Saturday, Oct. 25, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. It will pick back up Monday, Oct. 27, and continue through Friday, Oct. 31. All advanced voting takes place at the Decatur County Fairgrounds located at 1211 Vada Rd.

Email newsletter signup

On Election Day, Nov. 4, all nine precincts in Decatur County will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voters may access their specific voting information, such as sample ballot and precinct information at mvp.sos.ga.gov.

Appearing on the official general election ballot are:

United States Senate

David Perdue – Republican

M. Michelle Nunn – Democrat

Amanda C. Swafford – Libertarian



J. Nathan Deal – (Incumbent) Republican

Jason J. Carter – Democrat

Andrew T. Hunt – Libertarian


Lieutenant Governor

L.S. “Casey” Cagle – (Incumbent) Republican

Connie J. Stokes – Democrat


Secretary of State

Brian P. Kemp – (Incumbent) Republican

Doreen Carter – Democrat


Attorney General

Samuel S. Olens – (Incumbent) Republican

Gregory K. “Greg” Hecht – Democrat


Commissioner of Agriculture

Gary W. Black – (Incumbent) Republican

Christopher James Irvin – Democrat


Commissioner of Insurance

Ralph T. Hudgens – (Incumbent) Republican

Elizabeth N. “Liz” Johnson – Democrat

Edward T. “Ted” Metz – Libertarian

State School Superintendent

Richard L. Woods – Republican

Valarie D. Wilson – Democrat


Commissioner of Labor

J. Mark Butler – (Incumbent) Republican

Robbin K. Shipp – Democrat


Public Service Commissioner (To succeed H. Doug Everett)

Herman D. “Doug” Everett – (Incumbent) Republican

John H. Monds – Libertarian


Public Service Commissioner (To succeed Laren W. McDonald)

Lauren W. “Bubba” McDonald – (Incumbent) Republican

Daniel A. Blackman – Democrat

Robin Aaron Gilmer – Libertarian


U.S. Representative in 114th Congress from the 2nd Congressional District of Georgia

Gregory P. “Greg” Duke – Republican

Sanford D. Bishop – (Incumbent) Democrat


State Senator for 11th District

K. Dean Burke – (Incumbent) Republican


State Representative in the General Assembly from 171st District

Alfred J. “Jay” Powell, Jr. – (Incumbent) Republican



Ryan C. Cleveland – Republican

Ben Kirbo – (Incumbent) Democrat


Flint River Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

William Wayne Thomas – (Incumbent)


County Commissioner District 1

George Anderson – Democrat


County Commissioner District 4

Joe Putnal – Republican

Thomas R. “Rusty” Davis – Democrat

County Commissioner District 6

Pete Stephens – Democrat

To prohibit an increase in the state income tax rate in effect Jan. 1, 2015 (Senate Resolution 415)

Yes or No

Adding reckless driving penalties or fees to the brain and spinal injury trust fund (House Resolution 1183)

Yes or No

Allows property owned by the University System of Georgia and operated by providers of student housing and other facilities to remain exempt from taxation.

Yes or No