Soccer wraps up historic season with banquet

Published 8:07 pm Friday, May 16, 2014


From left to right: Luis Mejia, Emilio Hernandez, Leroy Rivera, Jay Castro, Dexter Lagace and Alex Ward. Not pictured are Dominic Douglas, Daniel Provence, Estala Agipito and David Brock.– Powell Cobb


Front row, left to right: Jennifer Becerra and Paige Braswell. Back row: Caryn Vandergriff, Jerilyn Jones, Derrical Williams, Treesy Hurst and K’Osha Ingram. Not pictured are Tori Sprenkle and Tianna Miller. — Powell Cobb

The Bainbridge High School Bearcats and Lady Cats soccer teams came together to cap off the season Wednesday over dinner and awards.
The Bearcats headed into an overtime shoot-out against Richmond Hill for the first round of the GHSA Class AAAAA state playoffs, and they won. BHS history was made as the team celebrated the program’s first playoff win. They quickly advanced to the second round of playoffs and fell 6-0 to the Greenbrier High School Wolfpack.
Despite the loss, the team’s attitude toward the season was nothing short of positive.
“Everything’s not going to be perfect all the time, but it’s what you do when things get tough and what you achieve through the tough parts,” Lady Cats soccer coach Chip Ariail said to a room of cheering players, parents and friends. “You don’t give up, you keep working hard and hopefully good things will happen. Each one of you should be proud of yourself for what you did on the field.”
Bearcats coach Mike Lewis presented a series of awards to some of his standout players from the season.
Leroy Rivera was given the Newcomer of the Year award, Alex Ward was given the Defensive award, Luis Mejia was given the Midfielder of the Year award and Emilio Hernandez was given the Offensive award.
Dexter Lagace’s arms were full with three awards: the Most Improved trophy, the Coach’s trophy and the Captain’s award.
Other players honored with the Captain’s award were Michael Moran, Chris Johnson, Devarrio Worthy, Mejia, Jay Castro, Dominic Douglas Emiliano Rivera Agapito Estala, Hernandez and Daniel Provence.
David Brock wasn’t present, but was honored with the Academic Award for his performance in the classroom.
Lewis also announced the players honored for first and second team All-Region.
Provence, Douglas, Mejia and Hernandez were named first team All-Region and Rivera, Castro and Ward were named second team All-Region.
Araial announced the award winners on the Lady Cats team, starting with Jennifer Becerra being honored with the Offensive award, Braswell being given the Midfielder award, Tianna Miller being given the Defensive Award and Tori Sprenkle being honored with the Newcomer award.
Braswell also received one of the Captains awards.
Caryn Vandergriff and Jerilyn Jones were both honored with the Co-Coach’s award and a Captains award. Treesy Hurst received the Highest GPA award and also a Captains award. K’Osha Ingram also earned a Captain award.
The Most Versatile award was given to Derrical Williams.
Miller was named to first team All-Region and Braswell and Becerra were named to second team All-Region.

Email newsletter signup