BHS students, seniors honored

Published 7:40 am Saturday, May 10, 2014

The top five Bainbridge High School seniors were honored for having the highest cumulative grade point averages through the past seven semesters, highlighting Tuesday night’s school honors program at the gymnasium.
They were Kay Elizabeth Bush, Jill Marie Overman, Brooke Ashley Parker, Morgan Elizabeth Phillips and Jacob Smith Thorn.
Football and track performer Stephen Johnson received the Army Reserve National School Athlete Award from Sergeant Justin Collins. Star Student Jacob Smith Thorn was honored with his Star Teacher Erica Farmer.
Track performer  Raven Burney  received the Marine Corps Distinguished Athletic Award  from Sergeant Richie Rich.
Football player Preston Norris received the Davis Williams scholarship, honoring two former Bainbridge High School head football coaches Spencer Davis and Sam Williams from Joan Shiver.
Track performer Raven Burney received the Marine Corps Distinguished Athletic Award.
Cross country runner Deyveion Banks received the Dylan Faircloth Scholarship named in honor and memory of a late former Bainbridge High School cross country runner who lost his life in a vehicle accident. Making the presentation were the honorees mother June Faircloth and his  cross country coach Mandi O’Mara.
Taylor Austin received the Decatur County Association of Educator’s scholarship. Wendy Granados received the Tommie Cook Scholarship from Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary sorority for women educators. It is named in honor and memory of a former Bainbridge High School teacher who served as local president of two different chapters.
Hannah Bius received the AB Carswell Memorial Scholarship established by the Carswell family to honor his memory. It goes to students from farming families, are involved in the Future Farmers of America  and have shown great  leadership  potential at Bainbridge High School.
Receiving academic lettermen awards were Tiera Adams, Tucker  Brock, James Clemons, Gabriel Cofer, Laiporsha Holland, Joseph Jackson, Kayla Miller, Emily New, Justin Patino, Quang Pham, Vallory Pinson, Darryl Thompson, William Walker III and Bryce Williams.
Treyvonate Alston received a National Honor Society Scholarship for being kind and compassionate of the needs of others in school and within the community.
He has a vision to help others with a blue jean drive at Bainbridge High School. Over 100 pairs of blue jeans were donated to kids throughout Decatur County  from his vision.

Email newsletter signup