Hospital board signs for SPLOST agreement

Published 8:31 pm Friday, March 21, 2014


Angela Cowart, a phlebotomist with Memorial Hospital and Manor since 2012, was recognized as employee of the month by Authority chair, Charles Tyson, far left, and Memorial Hospital CEO Billy Walker. — Carolyn Iamon

During a brief board meeting Tuesday, Memorial Hospital and Manor approved signing of a SPLOST VI intergovernmental agreement with the City of Bainbridge and Decatur County that designates 12 percent of funds received from the proposed SPLOST VI. Authority chair, Charles Tyson expressed thanks to the City of Bainbridge for their early support and for the county who came on board to make it possible, saying, “We appreciate both of them greatly and encourage all to go vote.”
Tyson also appointed a nominating committee of John Grimsley, chair;  Joe Livingston and Dr. Charles Walker to develop a slate of officers for the upcoming new fiscal year.
The board also gave approval to reappoint the current hospital attorneys and CPA firm. These are identified as Langley & Lee,LLC, Alston & Bird, George Floyd, and Tom Conger, attorneys; and Draffin & Tucker, CPA.
The financial report for February reflected a net income of $125,349 for the month, and a year to date of $890,650, compared to last YTD of $734,327.
CEO Billy Walker gave an update of events.
• Saturday, March 22, the Foundation sponsored half-marathon
• May 3, Foundation Derby Party fundraiser
• Tuesday, March 25, the Tobacco-free program presented by Patrick Reynolds, grandson of the founders of the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., will be at Bainbridge High School at 9:45 a.m. and at Bainbridge Middle School at 1:20. This program is co-sponsored by Memorial Hospital and the Decatur County School Foundation.
•March 30 is the annual Doctors’ Day, which will be commemorated with a luncheon.
It was also announced that Dr. Kerwyn Flowers, a physician at the Amelia Avenue Primary Care Plaza, will be leaving Bainbridge in April to go into the world of academia.
Discussion was had regarding the best time to hold the annual retreat, with Tyson suggesting it be held earlier or prior to the start of the fiscal year, while Billy Walker said it had been scheduled in July each year because traditionally there is no board meeting that month.
Following a closed executive session, the board went back into regular meeting and voted to approve the minutes of the executive board meeting, the TQM meeting minutes and March credentials for new physicians: Philip Troyer, James Karas, Robert Miles Jr., and William Ellis, all cardiologists; Oana Mischiu, Serge Djukic, Pradheep Shanker, all teleradiologists and Ashwin Ganta, an M.D. in Nephrology.
These doctors are all affiliated with the new Archhbold Specialty Clinic on Shotwell St. and they asked to have hospital privileges at Memorial.

Email newsletter signup