State Senate runoff election Tuesday

Published 1:09 pm Friday, February 1, 2013

Tuesday is the runoff election for the open District 11 state Senate seat, between Republican candidates Dr. Dean Burke of Bainbridge and Mike Keown of Coolidge.
All Decatur County voting precincts will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on election day, along with voting places in eight other southwest Georgia counties.
As of Friday afternoon, 934 early votes had been cast in the race in Decatur County. Due to state law, there is no early voting Monday.
The two candidates are vying to fill the vacant seat previously held by state Sen. John Bulloch, who resigned in December. Burke and Keown were the top two vote-getters in an initial six-candidate regular election held Tuesday, Jan. 8.
District 11 includes Decatur County, along with Early County, Seminole County, Miller County, Mitchell County, Grady County and portions of Colquitt and Thomas counties.

Email newsletter signup