Election Day is Tuesday

Published 3:57 pm Friday, November 2, 2012

The last day of early voting was Friday and no voting will be conducted this Saturday, Sunday or Monday.

On Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6, all county polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The main item on the ballot is the U.S. Presidential Election between incumbent Democrat Barack Obama and Republican challenger Mitt Romney.

Email newsletter signup

The only contested County Commissioner race will be in District 5, currently represented by Democratic incumbent Russell Smith, who is opposed by Republican challenger Terry Ellis.

All county voters will get to vote on the office of coroner. Incumbent Peter Bruton did not run for re-election, so the two persons on the ballot are Andrew Heard, Republican, and Kenny Hollis, Democrat.

There are two State House of Representatives races involving Decatur County voters, depending on where they live.

Most of Bainbridge and northern Decatur County will vote for who will represent House District 171. On the ballot are incumbent Republican Jay Powell and Democratic challenger Jewell Howard.

Southern Decatur County and Climax will vote for who will represent House District 173. On the ballot are incumbent Republican Darlene Taylor and Democratic challenger Haley Shank.

All county voters will cast ballots for who will represent the 2nd Congressional District of Georgia in the U.S. House of Representatives. On the ballot are Democratic incumbent Sanford Bishop and Republican challenger John House.

There are two proposed amendments to Georgia’s constitution on the ballot.

The first reads, “Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended to allow state or local approval of public charter schools upon the request of local communities?”

The second reads, “Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to provide for a reduction in the state’s operating costs by allowing the General Assembly to authorize certain state agencies to enter into multiyear rental agreements?”


Polling places for Decatur County

In late 2009, elections officials consolidated the county’s 14 voting precincts into nine in an effort to make them more accessible and help save money spent on the precincts’ maintenance.

Attapulgus — Attapulgus Community Center, 405 E. Griffin Ave., Attapulgus GA 39815

Brinson — Brinson Municipal Building, 179 Clifton St., Brinson, GA 39825

Climax — Climax Volunteer Fire Department, 402 W. Lee St., Climax, GA 39834

Coliseum — Decatur County Memorial Coliseum, 600 Wheat Ave., next to Bainbridge Middle School

Fairgrounds — Fairgrounds-Chamber, 11211 Vada Road, exhibit hall, located between East River Road and Highway 97 North

Kendrick — Kendrick Volunteer Fire Department, 2931 Spring Creek Road, Brinson, GA 39825

Mount Pleasant — Mount Pleasant Volunteer Fire Department (formerly Belcher), 119 Deese Road, Bainbridge, GA 39817

Recovery — Recovery United Methodist Church, 307 Recovery Road, Bainbridge, GA 39819

West Bainbridge — 1417 Dothan Road, the old West Bainbridge Middle School cafeteria.


Voters will need to show photo ID

Georgia law requires Georgia residents to show photo identification when voting in person.

The IDs acceptable are the following: Any valid state or federal government photo ID, including a free voter ID card issued by the Decatur County registrar’s office located at the Courthouse Annex at the corner of Water and Crawford streets or the Georgia Department of Driver Services; a Georgia driver’s license, even if expired; valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. government, Georgia, or any county, municipality, board, authority or other entity of this state; valid U.S. passport ID; valid U.S. military photo ID; and valid tribal photo ID.

For additional information about Georgia’s photo ID requirement please visit www.GAPhotoID.com


Voters can view sample ballots online

For more information on Georgia elections, including a list of the candidates who have qualified for state government positions, visit the Georgia Secretary of State’s elections Web site at http://www.sos.ga.gov/elections/

Citizens who want to check their voter registration status, locate where they vote, look at a sample ballot and find out more voting-related information can visit the Georgia Secretary of State’s “My Voter Page” at www.sos.ga.gov/mvp. To use the site, voters just need to enter their name, county of registration and their birthday.

Voters can also call the Decatur County Board of Elections office at (229) 243-2087.