Nominations open for ‘Ag Man, Woman of Year’

Published 5:39 am Friday, September 7, 2012

Agriculture is the leading industry in Decatur County and that fact alone gives us many reasons to celebrate. The Bainbridge-Decatur County Chamber of Commerce’s Agriculture Committee will celebrate by hosting the annual Ag Appreciation luncheon on Nov. 16.

One of the highlights of the luncheon is recognizing an outstanding Ag Man and Ag Woman in Decatur County. There have been many distinguished and deserving recipients of the awards over the years.

Ag Man recipients include: Hubert Dollar, Tommy Wheeler, Robert Humphrey, Marvin Rentz, Eddie McGriff, Alvin Newton, Dr. Oscar Jackson, Keith Griffin, Jud Greene, Glenn Heard, Willis Berry, Andy Bell, John Bridges Sr., John Bridges Jr., Charles Bailey, Greg Calhoun, Tommy Dollar, Kim Rentz, Clifford Dollar Jr., Douglas Dean, Jerry Long, Russell Day and Alan Davis.

Email newsletter signup

Ag Woman recipients include: Lillian Griffin, Jo Smith, Sybil Mills, Leslie Barber, Debby Braswell, Carolyn Bridges, Frances Edmunds, Janice Long, Ruth Day and Lindsey Bell Hayes.

Nominations are now being sought for this year’s Ag Man and Ag Woman recipients.  To be eligible, the nominee should be an outstanding leader in the field of agriculture in Decatur County with proven contributions to the agricultural industry and community.

Anyone may make a nomination. Simply contact the Chamber of Commerce office at (229) 246-4774, or visit the Chamber’s website at to download a nomination form. The nomination deadline is Sept. 17.

The Chamber appreciates the impact that agriculture has on our lives here in Decatur County, and the Chamber’s Ag Committee looks forward to receiving citizens’ nominations for the 2012 Ag Man and Ag Woman awards.