UPDATED FRIDAY: Candidates who qualified for July 31 elections

Published 3:27 pm Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Candidate qualifying for the July 31 primary and non-partisan elections began Wednesday. The following people had qualified for office as of noon Friday.


U.S. Representative, District 2

Email newsletter signup

Sanford Bishop (incumbent, D-Columbus)

Rick Allen (Republican, Columbus)

Ken DeLoach (Republican, Macon)

John House (Republican, Midland)


State Senator, District 11

John Bulloch (incumbent, R-Ochlocknee)


State Representative, District 171

Jay Powell (incumbent, R-Camilla)

Jewell D. Howard (Democrat, Baconton)


State Representative, District 173

Darlene K. Taylor (incumbent, R-Thomasville)

Haley Shank (Democrat, Thomasville)


District Attorney, South Georgia Circuit

Joe Mulholland (incumbent, D-Bainbridge)


County Board of Commissioners – District 2

David C. “Butch” Mosely – Democrat


County Board of Commissioners – District 3

Dennis Brinson – Democrat

Charles T. Stafford – Democrat


County Board of Commissioners – District 5

Russell Smith – Democrat

Max Bryant – Democrat

Terry Ellis – Republican


Tax Commissioner

Don Belcher


Clerk of Courts

Cecilia Willis



Wiley Griffin – Democrat

Brock Washington – Democrat



Kenny Hollis (Democrat)

Andrew Heard (Republican)


Board of Education – District 1

Kelvin Bouie

Debbie Elkins


Board of Education – District 5

Bobby H. Barber Jr.


Board of Education – District 3

Winston Rollins

George Washington Jr.

Michelle Miller


Brinson Council (Special Election)

Herman Hatton

Jesse Powell


County Treasurer

Jerry Maxwell


Probate Court

Chip Perry


Chief Magistrate Judge

Ralph Smith


State Court Judge

George Floyd