Students get creative for art show

Published 8:16 am Friday, May 11, 2012

VARIOUS WINNERS IN the art show pose for a group shot.

Special to The Post-Searchlight

Dozens of Decatur County students had the chance to show off their creative juices Sunday, at a reception for the 15th annual Student Art Show at the Firehouse Gallery. Students from kindergarten through 12th grade, at both public schools and home schools, had their work displayed and judged, with the winners taking home awards.

The show will be on display through Sunday, May 13. The gallery is open Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., and Sunday from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

The winners were as follows, according to Sharon Foulk, director of the Fireshouse Center and Gallery:

Elementary school awards:

• Pre-kindergarten: first, Evan Hutto, JWES; second, Jakin Rivera, JJES; third, Laylah Hawthorne, WBES; honorable mention (hon), Jahmia Miller, WBES.

• Kindergarten: first, LaBosqi Frazier, JJES; second, Sa’Maya Harrell, JJES; third, Jose Montalvo, JJES; hon, Lilliana Simmons, JJES.

• First grade: first, Zachary Breedlove, EKES; second, Raven Jackson, EKES; third, Jazmin Derico, JJES; hon, Coby James Parker, JJES.

• Second grade: first, Lyric Stevens, JJES; second, Brooke Eidson, EKES; third, Nely Perez, JJES; hon, Cameron Ezell, EKES.

• Third grade: first, Eliel Lopez, WBES; second, Yalonda Mendoza, JJES; third, Abbie Leverett, home schooled; hon, Jase Godwin, GCA.

• Fourth grade: first, Piper Harrell, JJES; second, Simon Dowdy, home schooled; third, Lilly Reynolds, EKES; hon, Shelbi Reynolds, PSES.

Hutto Middle School awards:

• Best of Show — Ansley Rogers.

• Drawing — first, Alaiya Schuyler; second, Jonathan Silva; third, Thomas Grubbs; hon, Misael Vasquez.

• Painting — first, Ana Estala; second, Catherine Stegall; third, Julian Garcia; hon, Diana Ambrocio.

• Mixed media — first, Ansley Rogers; second, Elizabeth Kirkland; third, Timia Spear; hon, Alaina Smith.

Bainbridge Middle School awards:

• Best of Show — Katrionna Fluitt.

• Drawing — first, Katrionna Fluitt; second, Kara Williams; third, Jah’Quavivious Odom; hon, Naaman Alajaji.

• Painting — first, Kara Williams; second, Kalen Cross; third, Karoline West; hon, Brandon Hacker.

• Mixed media — first, Naaman Alajaji; second, Tara Stevens; third, Briana Salem; hon, Perra Harrell.

High school awards:

• Best of Show — Ja’Quavius Jones.

• Drawing — first, Ja’Quavius Jones; second, Villeser Sarmiento; third, Zana Milline; hon, Michael Moron-Martinez.

• Painting — first, Shania Register; second, Pamela Rojas; third, Kaylyn Worthington; hon, Zakiya Williams.

• Mixed media — first, Michael Moron-Martinez; second, Villeser Sarmiento; third, Amber Thomas; hon, Courtlind Miller.

• Ceramics — first, Madison Helms; second, Dijonnaise Hill; third, Rebecca Conner; hon, Amber Thomas.

• Sculpture — first, Levi Adkins (home schooled); second, Courtlind Miller; third, Pamela Rojas; hon, Tori Caulder.

• Photography (open to all students) — first, Emily Wilson; second, Meigan Hodnett; third, Allie Brock; hon, Haley Farmer.