Public meetings set for Transportation Investment Act

Published 5:39 pm Thursday, September 1, 2011

Special to The Post-Searchlight

The Southwest Georgia Regional Transportation Roundtable will host three public meetings for the purpose of receiving comments on the draft investment list for the regional transportation sales tax, as outlined in the Transportation Investment Act of 2010, for the following counties: Baker, Calhoun, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas and Worth.

Public meetings will be held throughout the region at the following locations:

Email newsletter signup

• Monday, Sept. 12, 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the Dougherty County Government Building, Room 100, 222 Pine Ave., Albany.

• Tuesday, Sept. 13, 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the Southwest Georgia Regional Commission, 2nd Floor Conference Room, 30 West Broad St., Camilla.

• Wednesday, Sept. 14,  5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the Firehouse Gallery, 2nd Floor Conference Room, 19 W. Water St., Bainbridge.

Items to be presented include an overview of the Transportation Investment Act of 2010 and the draft list of transportation projects for the Southwest Georgia region, as approved by the executive committee of the regional roundtable.

Maps will be available to identify project locations. Comments on the draft investment list may be submitted to Southwest Georgia Regional Commission, Attention: Transportation Planner, PO Box 346, Camilla, GA 31730, or may be emailed to

The draft constrained investment list is available for public review and comment online at and a complete listing of projects and their descriptions, as well as additional information, is available on the Georgia Department of Transportation website at

The public is invited and encouraged to attend these meetings to become informed of the transportation project list. After the public meetings, the Roundtable will reconvene to review the public comments and adopt a final constrained list that will be presented on the ballot to voters in 2012.