Ag Man/Woman nominations sought

Published 10:27 am Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Agriculture is the leading industry in Decatur County, and that fact gives local citizens many reasons to celebrate the industry.

With this in mind, the Bainbridge-Decatur County Chamber of Commerce Agriculture Committee is planning its annual Ag Appreciation luncheon. The celebration will be held in November to honor local farmers, agri-businesses, and ag educators. Ag Commissioner Gary Black will be the keynote speaker for the event.

One of the highlights of the annual luncheon is recognizing an Ag Man and Ag Woman of the Year. The Chamber’s Ag Committee is seeking nominations from the community for the 2011 Ag Man and Ag Woman of the Year. If anyone would like to nominate an outstanding man or woman with proven leadership contributions to the agriculture industry and community, please contact the Chamber of Commerce office at (229) 246-4774 or visit the Chamber’s website at for a nomination form. The nomination deadline is Sept. 16, 2011.

Email newsletter signup

The Chamber appreciates the impact that local farmers and agriculture have on countless lives here in Decatur County and the Ag Committee looks forward to receiving citizens’ nominations for the 2011 Ag Man and Ag Woman awards.

There have been many distinguished and deserving recipients of the awards over the years. Ag Man recipients include: Hubert Dollar, Tommy Wheeler, Robert Humphrey, Marvin Rentz, Eddie McGriff, Alvin Newton, Dr. Oscar Jackson, Keith Griffin, Jud Greene, Glenn Heard, Willis Berry, Andy Bell, John Bridges, Sr., John Bridges, Jr., Charles Bailey, Greg Calhoun, Tommy Dollar, Kim Rentz, Clifford Dollar, Jr., Douglas Dean, Jerry Long, and Russell Day. Ag Woman recipients have been: Lillian Griffin, Jo Smith, Sybil Mills, Leslie Barber, Debby Braswell, Carolyn Bridges, Frances Edmunds, Janice Long, and Ruth Day.