Nine new scholarships awarded

Published 5:44 pm Tuesday, May 31, 2011

[nggallery id=152]

The Bainbridge College community gathered for the first Honors Night held in the new Student Wellness Center and witnessed the presentation of new academic awards, nine new scholarships, and more than 30 other scholarships and honors.

President Richard Carvajal presented BC’s highest honor, the Academic Recognition Award, to James C. Ulmer of Bainbridge, who also received BC’s first Outstanding Non-Traditional Student award for extraordinary academic achievement and accomplishments.

Email newsletter signup

Ulmer’s Academic Recognition Award recognizes him as the student with the highest number of credit hours and highest grade point average (GPA). For his honor Ulmer received a proclamation from Georgia’s House of Representatives, presented by Rep. Gene Maddox, and a proclamation from the state Senate that President Carvajal presented at the May 5 honors convocation.

President Carvajal also presented BC President’s Student Awards to the top freshman and sophomore students. Melisa Adams of Jakin was named as Freshman Female and Philip Lehman of Cairo as Freshman Male. Wayne Sykes of Bainbridge received the Sophomore Male award and the Andrew Avery Memorial Scholarship.

Sophomore Female award winner Meghan Vickers of Bainbridge and BC honor student Shaquera Moore of Donalsonville were the first recipients of awards for the Outstanding International Education Student. Ms. Vickers also received the Climax Community Club Scholarship and a Rotaract Club Outstanding Member of the Year Award for her work as vice president.

Macy Phillips of Bainbridge received the newly created Outstanding History Student award. Receiving new awards for physics were Emily B. Taylor of Pelham, Academic Excellence in Introductory Physics, and Christopher O. Williams of Bainbridge, Academic Excellence in Introductory Physics II.

Garon L. Sellars of Bainbridge was recognized for Academic Excellence in Organic Chemistry II. Student Government (SGA) President Jana L. Simmons of Cairo received the Academic Excellence in Organic Chemistry I award and an award for her SGA leadership. Wesley M. Potter of Whigham received the Academic Excellence in Principles of Chemistry I award and one of the three Walter E. and Mary B. Cox Scholarships. Matthew Powell of Cairo was honored for Academic Excellence in Principles of Chemistry II.

Students Jessica Cato of Climax and William Morton of Bainbridge were the first recipients of Col. Hector Dueno Veterans Scholarships created by BC chemistry professor Dr. Eric Dueno in honor of his father, who attended the ceremony.

Receiving newly created BC Foundation scholarships were Chelsea Cook of Bainbridge, the Alton B. and Glenn Dora Cromer Scholarship; Kellee Knight of Whigham, the Coppinger Powell Santoro Scholarship; Whitney Poppell, of Whigham, the James H. and Ruby A. Smith Scholarship; Kelsea Reese of Jakin, the Ponder Brothers’ Scholarship; Taylor Kirkpatrick of Bainbridge and Frankie Williams of Blakely, the Tom Wilkerson Scholarships; and Jessica Reese of Donalsonville, the first Whittington-Wilkerson Scholarship, in addition to the Delta Kappa Gamma Honor Society for Women Educators Scholarship.

Ben Childree of Brinson received the Brock Waldorf Scholarship established several years ago by Virginia Brock Waldorf of Tallahassee, Fla., who attended Honors Night and congratulated the recipient.

The following students received Bainbridge College and BC Foundation Scholarships. Dorothy Walker was selected for the BC Ambassadors Scholarship, and Linda Wilson received the Bank of the Ozarks Scholarship; both are of Cairo. Wayne Alday, first recipient of Chi Alpha Christian Ministries Member of the Year award, received the Bainbridge Lions Club Scholarship, and Shateera Green, the Conyers/Hunter Scholarship; both are of Bainbridge and both also received awards from Alpha Beta Gamma (ABG) business honor society.

Brandrail Brown of Blakely, received the D. M. Langston Scholarship; Phyllis Thompson of Thomasville, Dr. Jenna Miley Scholarship; Tyara Bell of Bainbridge, E.T. and Jewel Robinson Scholarship; Sandra O’Niel of Climax, Ernest C. Jones Memorial Scholarship; Phyllis Ricks of Damascus, Gragg Brothers’ Scholarship.

Shaun Gaskins received the Joanna Stone Scholarship and Tawania Crapp, the Kermit F. Bates Jr. Scholarship; both are of Bainbridge. Charleston Stringer and Kristan Whatley, both of Blakely, received Kirbo Foundation Scholarships. Susan Shaw received the Leverett Scholarship, Katie Hall, the Lillethun Scholarship and Bainbridge Association of Nursing Students (BANS) Leadership Award, and Ashley Wimberly, the Mildred W. McCarty Scholarship; all are of Bainbridge.

Nussbaum Scholarships went to these four students: Hannah Owens of Pelham, April Sunshine Tillery, who also received the BANS Community Service Award, and Debra Zuniga, both of Bainbridge, and Patricia Washington of Blakely.

Chelsea Kornse of Bainbridge received the Ruth V. and Roland L. Horn Scholarship. Caleb Long of Colquitt received the Virginia Lee Rozier Memorial Scholarship and the Outstanding Work Study Award.

Jamilla Avril and SGA Second Vice President Terry Williams, who was honored for SGA leadership and by ABG, received Walter E. and Mary B. Cox Scholarships, and Emily Ray received the Widener Scholarship; all are of Bainbridge.

BC Hero Awards were presented to Tyler A. Inlow of Bainbridge and Ben Green of Cairo, who responded to separate emergency situations and saved lives by applying lessons learned at Bainbridge College. Inlow saved a woman in 2010, and Green assisted a critically injured auto accident victim in 2011.

Robert Truman Turner of Blakely was honored as BC’s winner of Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) competition in the Technical Studies Division.

Outstanding Tutor Awards went to Kyle Conoly and Alan Killingsworth of Bainbridge.

The following awards were also presented for student leadership and involvement in campus and community life. In addition to ABG awards listed above, ABG business honor society presented awards to Tevin Akins, Wanda Cook, Mary Katina Dunn, Sherry Gadson and Berinda Horne, all of Bainbridge; Paula Backey of Brinson; Tammy Barineau and Chassidy Gurley of Cairo; and Sandra Hudson of Iron City.

Theresa Close of Bainbridge earned the Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics Award from Mu Alpha Theta mathematics honor society. Jenny R. Maldonado of Donalsonville received the Sigma Kappa Delta English Honor Society Leadership Award.

Rotaract Club President Joanna Richardson of Colquitt received a Rotaract Outstanding Member of the Year Award. Bainbridge residents Sarah Burch received Rotaract’s Service Above Self Award and Allison Webb the David Ramsay Simmons Sr. Rotary Club of Bainbridge Volunteer Service Scholarship.

In addition to SGA awards listed above, the SGA honored these leaders for their SGA work: Freshman Representative Kevin Dew, Sophomore Representative Jemere Hopkins, Vice-President Patricia Williams, all of Bainbridge, and Secretary LeAnn Kirby of Colquitt.

In addition to its awards already listed, BANS Community Service Awards went to Sunshine Tillery of Bainbridge and Dannyelle Parker of Cairo.

BC‘s Circle-K chapter honored President Jessica Bostick of Bainbridge for her dedication and outstanding accomplishments, serving 2009-2011.

Licensed Practical Nursing Program students who received Leadership Awards were Stephanie Raley of Bainbridge, Stephanie McClain of Colquitt; and Ernest Lee Jordan of Donalsonville.