Farm Credit announces new member

Published 10:05 am Thursday, May 5, 2011

Southwest Georgia Farm Credit board of director members elected James Dixon Jr., to the board at its annual meeting held April 12 in Albany, Ga.

Dixon defeated incumbent board member Charlie Burch, who had served the organization for 24 years.

Email newsletter signup

The annual meeting provides an opportunity for members to review the association’s financial performance, as well as learn about the upcoming year’s business plan objectives.

Dixon, who resides in Mitchell County, will join the board at its April meeting. Dixon, 48, a poultry farmer, earned a bachelor’s degree in agriculture economics from the University of Georgia. He has served the local agricultural community for many years as a member of the board of Georgia Young Farmers, Mitchell County Cattlemen’s Association, Mitchell County Young Farmers and Mitchell County Farm Bureau.

“I’m looking forward to the opportunity to serve farmers and farm businesses in southwest Georgia as a member of the Farm Credit Board,” Dixon said. “Farm Credit serves us by being a safe, sound and reliable source of credit. The Association’s strength translates to opportunity for the local agricultural community.”

Other members of the Board include Bobby J. Brooks, T.E. (Gene) Allen III, Clifford Dollar Jr., Robert L. Holden Sr., Robert B. (Bobby) Moss, B.E. (Billy) Powell and Jeffrey Clark.

Elected to serve on the 2012 Nominating Committee were Rebecca Fort, Lumpkin; Glenn Heard, Brinson; Susan Sapp, Sale City; Marshall Lamb, Shellman. Alternates include Joseph H. Ammons Jr., Richland; and Thomas R. Davis, Bainbridge.

Southwest Georgia Farm Credit, headquartered in Bainbridge, is an agricultural lending cooperative owned by its member-borrowers.