16 complete Leadership class

Published 5:30 pm Tuesday, March 15, 2011

THE 16 GRADUATES of the Leadership Decatur County are, from the left, from the bottom, April Floyd, Kim Walden, Bridget Collier, Randy Logue, Jeff Findley, Tammi Godwin, Lance Wilson, Joe Truhett, Vonda Hubbard, Roy Mathews, Teresa Lashley, Ronnie Burke, John Kennedy, Benny Harrell, Phil Van Trump and Scott Tuten.


Chamber of Commerce President

Over the last five months, 16 participants of the Leadership Decatur County program were challenged to take on a more active leadership role in our community.

Email newsletter signup

The participants began the Chamber of Commerce-sponsored leadership program with a series of classes created by the Fanning Institute of the University of Georgia and concluded with a series of classes designed to expose them to the social, economic, educational and governmental aspects of the community.

The Class of 2011 represents the 11th class to complete the LDC program and on Tuesday, March 8, the chamber hosted a reception to honor the participants.

Past Chamber Chairman Billy Barber addressed the class and the LDC Steering Committee Chairman Debbie McIntyre presented certificates.

Scott Tuten was selected by his peers as the recipient of the Walter E. Cox Leadership Award, which is given in honor of our late state Rep. Walter E. Cox from Bainbridge. Representative Cox served our community in numerous leadership capacities including mayor and city council member.

This year’s class was a representation of various businesses, industries, organizations and educators from throughout the county. They committed their personal time to learn more about our community and learn how their participation, concern and leadership can make a difference in the future of Bainbridge and Decatur County.

Congratulations to the following participants: Ronnie Burke, Family Connections; Bridget Collier, Ivey Funeral Home; Jeff Findley, Bainbridge Media; April Floyd, First Port City Bank; Tammi Godwin, Board of Education; Benny Harrell, Office of the District Attorney; Vonda Hubbard, Board of Education; John Kennedy, Georgia Power; Teresa Lashley, Board of Education; Randy Logue, Bainbridge Pharmacy; Roy Mathews, Board of Education; Joe Truhett, Georgia Power; Scott Tuten, DaniMer Scientific; Phil Van Trump, Meredian; Kim Walden, Chamber of Commerce, and Lance Wilson, The Wilson Agency.

The Leadership Decatur County program was started in 1990 under the direction of Cathy Cox and Dr. Don Robinson and it has been very successful in the advancement of leadership within our community.

The program is volunteer-driven, and it would not be possible without the time and dedication of many generous volunteers.

Thank you to the following individuals who helped facilitate or instruct the classes: Wynton Hall, Suzi Bonifay, Josh Paske, Debbie McIntyre, Mayor Edward Reynolds, Ray Chambers, Rick McCaskill, Sheriff Wiley Griffin, Warden Moses James, Cecilia Willis, Judge Wallace Cato, Joe Mulholland, Chip Nix, Tom Patton, Butch Mosely, Fred Rayfield and Linda Lumpkin.

A special thank you also goes to the following businesses and entities for contributing to the program: Georgia Power, DaniMer Scientific, Meredian, The Post-Searchlight, Bainbridge Probation Substance Abuse Treatment Center, the Decatur County Courthouse and Clerk of Court, the Decatur County Commissioner’s office, the City of Bainbridge, and Bainbridge College Student Wellness Center.

WINNER OF THE WALTER E. COX Leadership Award, which is Scott Tuten, which was presented by Debbie McIntyre.