Williams receives service award

Published 7:43 pm Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Memorial Hospital and Manor celebrated its 50th Anniversary with employees, volunteers and physicians during National Hospital Week and National Nursing Home Week on May 14 with an annual awards program and picnic lunch.

The presentation of the prestigious Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award was the highlight of an informal awards program, which also included the presentation of service pins. The Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award is given annually “to a Memorial Hospital and Manor employee whose commitment to serving patients extends beyond assigned responsibilities and whose caring efforts offer inspiration to others.”

The award has been given annually since 1990 in honor of the late Julia C. Rogers, a Memorial Hospital and Manor nurse whose compassion and commitment touched patients, as well as employees, of the hospital and nursing home.

Email newsletter signup

The recipient of this award is nominated by his peers and selected on qualities such as courteousness, consideration, gentleness, respectfulness and helpfulness.

Jamie Williams was selected for the 2010 Rogers Award.

Williams has worked as a physical therapy assistant in the hospital’s Rehab Department for almost 20 years. In the award nomination, which was submitted by his peers, Williams was described as a very dependable, dedicated, employee who gives his best to patients. Williams was noted as having a good rapport with employees, co-workers and patients.

Williams said he was surprised and honored to receive the Julia C. Rogers Award.

“I was involved in Miss Julia’s care when she was a patient. Knowing Miss Julia’s values and concern toward her patients, I feel honored to receive this award,” he said.

Williams said he volunteered in the physical therapy department of Memorial Hospital and Manor while attending Bainbridge College and also worked as a physical therapy technician before completing the physical therapy assistant program in college. He first became interested in a career in physical therapy after he received therapy as a patient at Memorial Hospital and Manor.

Cynthia Vickers, RN, BSN, administrator of Memorial Manor and director of nurses at the hospital, introduced two special guests, Frank Gibson, M.D., and Georgia Rich, RN, who were part of the hospital’s beginning.

Dr. Gibson served as the medical consultant for the construction of Memorial Hospital and was a member of the original medical staff in 1960. He was a general surgeon at Memorial Hospital until 1987, when he retired from private practice and began working at Bainbridge State Hospital as one of the staff physicians.

Rich worked as a nurse at Memorial Hospital when it opened on April 4, 1960, and remembers helping set up furniture for the new hospital. She is now a resident in Memorial Manor.

Paul Bennett, M.D., chief of staff of Memorial Hospital and Manor, expressed appreciation to everyone on behalf of the medical staff for the sacrifices they make in their jobs every day. He also added that he is proud of the way everyone works together to give each patient the best of care. He said that he believes that Memorial Hospital and Manor employees care for patients and residents as if they were their own family.

After the Rogers award and other service awards were given, Memorial’s maintenance department employees served grilled hamburgers and hot dogs on the hospital grounds for the entire staff of more than 600 employees, volunteers and physicians.

Other awards

Superior Service AwardsAngel Sykes, Administrative Services

Elise Barber, Ancillary Services

Carolyn Glisson, Financial Services

Amanda Addison, Long Term Care

Sheliah Eakin, Nursing Services

Annie Smart, Support Services

Horizon AwardJessica Ritter

Congeniality AwardCandy Harvey

Team Effort AwardWillie Washington

Service AwardsFive Year Awards

Aric Aldridge, M.D.

Bart Cabangbang

Brenda Johnson

Brittney Singleton

Candy Harvey

Deborah Flowers

Deetra Landrum

Jeana Scott

Jeremiah Porter

Jessica Harrell

Kay Cox

Kimberly Sizemore

Kyle Kelley

Mandy Harrison

Marisa Williams

Mary Pickett

Patricia Newsome

Rita Sekula

Rudolph Gordon

Shirley Wolfe

Stephanie Lewis

Suzanne Nix

Torrence McNelson

Vicki Grubbs

Wendy Grimes

10 Year Awards

Alicia Estillore, M.D.

Angie Tyus

Barbara Kimmins

Barbara Parker

Bernaldyne Hamilton

Carolyn Kincaid

Coleen Bunting

Cynthia Lewis

Debra Burke

Eileen Ulmer

Gloria Johnson

Hana Belohradova-Towns

Henrietta Carter

Judy Temples

Karen Maige

Kathy Rentz

Ken Varnadoes

Linda Blackburn

Lisa Sharber

Majorie Bishop

Michelle Reese

Missy Smith

Nancy McLendon

Paul Towns

Peggy Salter

Peggy Stout

Rebecca Inlow

Shandora Screen

Thelma Jackson

Tisha Fowler

Vicki Hancock

15 Year Awards

Angel Sykes

Jamey Whitaker

Jim Peak

Lawanna Maples

Melissa Atkinson

Roger Braswell

Vicie Glenn

20 Year Awards

Benita Stephens

Betty Day

Donnie Corbin

Kathy Palmer

Lee Harris

Peggy Merkison

25 Year Awards

Joyce Horne

Rita Greene

Sheliah Eakin

30 Year Awards

Erma Gaines

Helen Kelly

Joyce Conner

Myra Mackey

35 Year Awards

Mildred Ross

Jodi Scott