Graduation ceremonies at Centennial Field

Published 6:23 am Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Moving the 2010 Bainbridge High School graduation ceremonies to the gymnasium on the new campus did not sit too well with the graduation class.

At the recommendation of the Bainbridge High School Council, the Decatur County Board of Education voted at the October meeting to hold the graduation ceremonies on Saturday morning, May 22, at the school gymnasium.

Last Thursday at the board meeting, Bainbridge High School senior Sunnie Chason represented a group of seniors to voice their concern over the move. They requested to move the ceremonies back to Centennial Field, where graduation has historically been held.

Email newsletter signup

The main concern of the graduating class is the limited space available at the gymnasium, while there are practically no limitations at the football field. Plans called for each graduating senior to be allotted four tickets for the ceremony.

“I consider my graduation to be the height of my academic career thus far, and I want all of my family members to be there,” Chason said. “As is currently stands, I will be forced to choose between my own grandparents.”

Chason presented a petition asking for the move signed by the majority of the senior class to board Chairman Sydney Cochran.

Cochran replied that he appreciated Chason addressing the board and her points would be taken into consideration.

Also during the public participation period of the meeting, the Rev. Adren Bivins, founder of the Laymen Brotherhood Second Chance Outreach Center, asked the board to consider either selling at reasonable price or donating the old Lillian E. Williams Elementary school building in Attapulgus for the use of his ministry.

The school was closed last year during the system’s reorganization of schools. Since, the vacant building has been appraised and put on the market.

Bivins indicated that he planned to use the building as temporary living quarters, a recreation facility and a spiritual counseling facility. No action was taken on the request.

Current board chairman Cochran was re-elected as the 2010 board chairman by a 4-2 vote, with board members Cochran, Bobby Barber, Randall Jones and Jacky Grubbs voting yes, and board members Clarissa Kendrick and Winston Rollins voting no.

Current board vice-chairman Jacky Grubbs was re-elected as the 2010 board vice-chairman by 4-2 vote, with Kendrick and Rollins voting no.