Thirty vie for forestry title

Published 2:16 pm Friday, March 6, 2009

The Decatur County Forestry Pageant held Feb. 7 with 30 young ladies competing for the tiles of Baby, Teeny, Tiny, Little, Junior, Teen, Miss and Hospitality Decatur County Forestry Queen.

Reigning Queens April Hollingsworth, Brooke Kelley, Shelby Covin, Emily Howell, Cameron Eakin and Hadley Shiver opened the “Girls Gone Wild” pageant, previewing the theme of the 2009 Miss Georgia Forestry pageant.

Miss Georgia Forestry April Hollingsworth, representing Decatur County and a theater major at Columbus State College, served as mistress of ceremony for the evening. She announced the beginning of the competition with the Baby Miss and Teeny Miss contestants. The young ladies were scored on personality, poise, beauty, gown and over-all appearance.

Email newsletter signup

They were followed by the Teen and Miss Contestants showing off all forms of animal print, feathers and faux fur and performing an opening number and introduction to “Born to be Wild.”

Next, it was time for the Tiny-Miss Evening Gown competition.

Tiny-Junior Miss contestants took their turn about the stage and when it was time for Teen and Miss contestants to take the spotlight, not only did they have evening gown competition, but also had to answer an on-stage question.

Earlier in the day Teen and Miss contestants meet with the judges to give a platform speech of their choice and be interviewed by the judges. Speech and interview account for 75 percent of the total score for Teen and Miss Contestants.

After all contestants had completed their evening gown competition, the contestants were able to let loose with a fun category of competition, sportswear/modeling. Contestants who choose to participate in this event got a chance to show off their personal style and add a little flare to their on-stage sportswear walk. When the sportswear/modeling competition was complete it was time to crown eight young ladies.

Crowning the girls

Careygan Palmer, the daughter of Lisa and Brian Palmer of Bainbridge, was crowned Baby Miss and also won photogenic, prettiest smile, prettiest dress and the people’s choice award. Callie Eakin was the first runner up and won the award for prettiest hair.

Bailey Nunnery, the daughter of Matt and Stephanie Nunnery of Donalsonville, won the title of Teeny Miss and received the people’s choice award, prettiest dress award and the prettiest hair award. Maddie Howell was first runner up and also received most photogenic. Jewel Anvar placed second runner up and received the prettiest smile award.

Caroline Harrison, the daughter of Nick Bennett and Emily Harrison of Climax, captured the title of Tiny Miss. She also won the awards for prettiest smile and prettiest dress. Madeline Gainous received the photogenic award and prettiest hair, while Jenna Haifa won the people’s choice award.

Hannah Gibson, the daughter of Steve Glass and Erica Gibson of Bainbridge, won the title of Little Miss. Katie Beth Mims placed first runner up and prettiest dress, Harley Shiver received the awards for most photogenic, prettiest smile, People’s choice and the sportswear/modeling award for the Little division, while Lauren Boatwright won prettiest hair.

McKenna Locke, the daughter of Edward and Robin Locke of Bainbridge, captured the title of Junior Miss. McKenna also won the award for prettiest smile. Katina Whittaker, the daughter of Jennifer and Mark Whittaker of Colquitt, won the title of hospitality and she also was awarded most photogenic. Cidney Adams placed first runner up, the people’s choice award and the award for prettiest hair. Sage Long placed second runner up and won the sportswear/modeling award. Megan Smith placed third runner up and won the prettiest dress award.

Georgia Hodges, the daughter of Derrick and Rebecca Wolfe of Bainbridge, captured the title of Teen Miss. Georgia also won the interview award, speech award, prettiest dress and prettiest smile. Asilynne Strickland placed first runner up and won the Teen Miss sportswear/modeling award and the overall sportswear/modeling award along with the people’s choice award, prettiest hair award and the photogenic award.

Haley Rathel, the daughter of Charles and Suzy Rathel of Bainbridge, won the title of Miss Decatur County Forestry and also received the speech award and interview award along with prettiest hair. Leigh Anne Rowell placed first runner up and prettiest dress, while Jordie King won people’s choice and Kayla Brewer won photogenic and prettiest smile.

The Teeny, Tiny, Little, Junior, Hospitality, Teen and Miss 2009 Decatur County Forestry Queens will all travel to Tifton, Ga., in June to represent Decatur County in the 70th Annual Miss Georgia Forestry Pageant.