Potter Street students honored

Published 3:08 pm Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Twenty-two fifth-graders and 19 fourth-graders were inducted Friday morning into the National Elementary Honor Society at the Conger Gym on campus.

Fifth-grade Honor Society officers are President Michaela Calhoun, Vice-president Haylie Wilkinson, Secretary Linda Moore, Treasurer Savannah Hall and Parliamentarian Dylan Harris.

Other fifth-grade members include Kaylee Clark, Codie Gill, Robert Gill, Nicholas Hancock, Brittany Heard, Carla Hernandez, Christian Hollingsworth, Jessica Hurt, Carolyn Jackson, Myron Jacobs, Kristen Kemp, Iris Malone, Amber Mitchell, Montavius Porter, Shania Register, Brett Scott and Jonathan Thrower.

Email newsletter signup

Among the Society members from the fourth grade are Emily Calhoun, Jaylin Cooper, Jeremy Freeman, Milton Gayle, Qu’Derrious Gray, Nathan Heard, Keundra Haire, Sellissie Henry, Jeremiah Hodge, Meleke Lurry, Abagail McMillian, William Mixon, Brandon Register, Austin Rumph, Ashton Sconyers, Alisha Scott, Alexis Smith, Christian Strange and Brittany Thompson.

During the ceremony, guest speaker Linda Lumpkin, assistant Decatur County School superintendent of Human Resources, and Potter Street Principal Lillie H. Brown pointed out that induction in the Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be obtained by an elementary student.

Honor Society adviser is Marilyn Melton. Advisory committee members in addition to she and Brown are Shylene Crump, Brandi Deal, Tracy Midler, Connie Mitchell, Cynthia Thomas and Shelonda Nixon.