Qualifying for local elections underway

Published 6:41 pm Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Three incumbent Bainbridge City Council members have qualified to run for re-election, according to the Decatur County Elections office.

Qualifying for non-partisan municipal races in the November general election began Monday morning and will continue through Friday at 4:30 p.m., said Clerk of Elections Peggy Richardson.

Those qualifying to run for re-election to the Bainbridge City Council include: Luther Conyers Jr., a retired educator who holds District A, Post 4; Roslyn Palmer, a businesswoman who holds District B, Post 5; and Dr. Dean Burke, a medical doctor who holds District B, Post 6.

Email newsletter signup

Conyers was first elected in 1977. Palmer has served on the council since 1988. Burke was first elected in 2007, after previously having served on the Bainbridge Planning Commission.

Brinson and Climax

Two Brinson Town Council seats, as well as the office of mayor, will be included in the November elections. However, incumbent Councilman Franklin Faircloth was the only one who had qualified as of Tuesday, Richardson said.

All four Attapulgus City Council seats and the office of the town’s mayor are up for election. As of Tuesday, only city council member incumbents Janice Baty, Lamar Maxwell and Doris Gay had qualified.

No one had yet qualified for any City of Climax elections, as of mid-day Tuesday.