• 59°

Region 1AAAA will have eight teams

The new Region 1AAAA, which Bainbridge High School sports teams will be participating in the next two years, will consist of eight schools instead of nine as previously proposed.

It was also decided at a Tuesday Region meeting in Albany that the Region would not subdivide. That decision was made after Harris County’s appeal to move to Region 3AAAA was granted Wednesday by the Georgia High School Association.

After the Harris County decision, Region schedules were set for the 2010 football season,

Coach Ed Pilcher’s Bainbridge Bearcats will open the season with three straight non-Region games before playing seven consecutive Region games.

Their first game will be Friday, Aug. 27, against the Early County High School Bobcats in Blakely.

They will return home Friday, Sept. 3, hosting the Cairo High School Syrupmakers.

The season’s third game, on either Friday, Sept. 10, or Friday, Sept. 17, is still to be scheduled.

The first two Region 1AAAA games will be Friday, Sept. 24, against Northside Warner Robins, and Friday, Oct. 1, against Hardaway of Columbus, both at home.

The Bearcats first Region 1AAAA away game will be Friday, Oct. 8, against Northside Columbus.

They will wrap up the regular season with a run of four Region 1AAAA games, two at home and two on the road.

The run will begin with a Friday, Oct. 15, home game with Houston County, continue with a Saturday, Oct. 23, away came with Warner Robins, and a Friday, Oct. 29, home game with Lee County and conclude with a Friday, Nov. 5, away game with Thomas County Central.