Kegler receives service award

Published 4:26 pm Tuesday, May 19, 2009

In celebration of National Hospital Week and National Nursing Home Week, Memorial Hospital and Manor honored its employees, physicians and volunteers last Thursday with an annual awards program and picnic lunch.

The presentation of the prestigious Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award was the highlight of an informal awards program, which also included the presentation of service pins.

The Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award is given annually “to a Memorial Hospital and Manor employee whose commitment to serving patients extends beyond assigned responsibilities and whose caring efforts offer inspiration to others.”

Email newsletter signup

The award has been given annually since 1990 in honor of the late Mrs. Julia C. Rogers, a Memorial Hospital and Manor nurse whose compassion and commitment touched patients, as well as employees, of the hospital and nursing home.

The recipient of this award is nominated by his peers and selected on qualities such as courteousness, consideration, gentleness, respectfulness and helpfulness.

This year, Oleatha Kegler, LPN, was selected for the Rogers Award.

Kegler has worked as a nurse in the Women’s Center at Memorial Hospital and Manor for more than 20 years. In the award nomination, which was submitted by her peer, Kegler was described as an awesome nurse and person.

As a Labor and Delivery nurse, Kegler was noted as having compassion and patience in helping new mothers learn to breast feed.

The nomination also explained that “She possesses every quality that a nurse should hold—wisdom, compassion and kindness. She always finds a way to make her patients smile, and always with a humble, genuine attitude.”

Joe Livingston, chairman of the Hospital Authority, opened the awards program by praising Memorial Hospital and Manor’s employees for all they do and thanking them for helping cut spending in the past year.

“We’ve made some tough financial decisions this year, but not without giving much thought as to how these decisions affect you and the community.”

Paul Bennett, M.D., chief of staff of Memorial Hospital and Manor, expressed appreciation to everyone on behalf of the medical staff.

He reminded them that he had started as a nurse’s aide at the hospital many years ago, and he understands the sacrifices they make in their jobs every day. He also added that he is proud of the way everyone works together to give each patient the best of care.

After the Rogers award and other service awards were given, Memorial’s maintenance department employees served grilled smoked pork chops on the hospital grounds for the entire staff of more than 600 employees, volunteers and physicians.

The following are the other awards handed out to the hospital employees:

Superior Service Awards

Cathy Willis, Administrative Services

Marvin Smith, Ancillary Services

Carolyn Kincaid, Financial Services

Gwen Morris, Long Term Care

Karren Elliott, Nursing Services

Karissa McMillan, Support Services

Horizon Award

Quadara Rogers

Congeniality Award

Russell Worek

Team Effort Award

Barbara Kimmins

Service Awards

Five Year Awards

Dameca Fillingame

Melissa Williams

Betty Loyless

Sandy Williams

Carolyn Valencia

Malissa Kimble

Amanda Thompson

Misty Blair

Janice Brown

Holly Tindell

Becky Clanton

Patricia McLendon

Patricia Sweet

Amanda Logue

Valerie Davis

Malee Watson

Linda Johnson

Lynn Stabler

Diane Hooper

Kim Byrd

Kathy Henry

Kim Zilis

Brenda Perkins

Loscella Foster

Cara Lynn

Ten Year Awards

Elise Barber

Melissa Reynolds

Latoya Alston

Tiffany Knight

Stan Otts

Celesta Pollock

Rose Givens

Anna Spears

Bonnie Screen

Debra Eakin

Maria Bailey

Debra Miller

Kim Creel-Poague

15 Year Awards

Jane Chesser

Janice Finn

Caryn Sams

Henrietta Harris

20 Year Awards

Pat Dean

Martha Shaneyfelt

Oleatha Kegler

Gloria Butler

Margie Kirkland

Mary Gadson

Florence Harper

Laura Musgrove

Debra Harrell

Jack Smith

Pebbles Miller

25 Year Awards

Ernestine Murphy

Gail Glover

Cynthia Vickers

30 Year Awards

Carol Davis

Susan Haywood

Jane Tye

Emma Green

Bobbie Culverson

35 Year Awards

Evon Allen

Hazel Dollar

45 Year Awards

Carolyn Elliott

Shirley Story