Realtors celebrate 2008 sales

Published 3:22 pm Friday, February 6, 2009

Mills Brock was named “Realtor of the Year” at the Southwest Georgia Board of Realtors annual awards dinner held at the Kirbo Center on the campus of Bainbridge College on Jan. 26.

Brock, a sales associate with Southern Forestry, was nominated in recognition of his business and civic accomplishments, his association with the local board and attendance at state conventions. He is a past-president of the board, served on the MLS committee, the grievance committee, is a director of the Lake Seminole Association, and is a licensed forester.

“Being technologically savvy puts him in the forefront in our industry,” according to the written nomination.

Email newsletter signup

LeAnn Inlow, sales associate with DeHildren Realty and Roy Simpson, broker of Simpson ERA, shared honors as each was presented with a spirit award.

Inlow was nominated for her strength of spirit and character shown to co-workers, friends and family.

Quoting the nomination, “Her hard work and spirit show not only in her success as a real estate agent, but also in her everyday life. LeAnn’s strength of spirit has seen her through some tough times.”

Simpson was nominated for his many years of experience in the real estate market.

“His positive outlook, his professionalism and his ability to work through problems, small and large, are unparalleled in our industry,” reads the nomination.

Rookie of the Year went to Angie Elkins, who joined Cairo Realty the summer of 2007. In spite of limiting medical situations in her family, she worked hard enough to qualify for the executive club, selling a minimum of $500,000 in 2008. She was not in attendance at the dinner due to family illness.

In making the awards presentations, Misti Kelley commented that although it had been a stressful year for real estate, members of the board had a total of $29,095,251.67 in sales for 2008.

Achievement awards were given in recognition of sales goals reached by individual agents.

Ten Realtors were awarded the Executive Club status for closing at least $500,000 in sales for 2008. They were Judie Kelly, Ronald Iamon, Gladys Moore, Angie Elkins, Anne Richter, Joseph Burke, John Pettis, Ken Horn, Bunny Brock and Amy Mills.

The million-dollar mark in sales was achieved by Lacey Godfrey, placing her in the active member category.

Two members, Sylvia Brogdon-Jones and Tom Mills, made the life member status by closing at least $1 million in sales over three consecutive years.

Active life status, requiring closing at least $1 million in sales for three out of five consecutive years, was reached by Regina Gossett, Sally Whitfield, Blaine Palmer, Cathy McConnell, Rollins Miller, LeAnn Inlow and Misti Kelley.

Realtors closing at least $1 million in sales for 10 consecutive years were Dawn Rackley, Gail Long, Larry Lennard, Linda Collins, Teresa Heard and Marcie Miller.

Once again, Bobby Miller was the lone gold member, having closed at least $1 million in sales for 20 consecutive years.

Board President Sally Whitfield, of Realty Mart in Cairo, presided over the evening.